Medicate

Hello,

So it’s been a big week for me, after waiting 4 weeks to see a doctor I seen the loveliest lady ever and I think I’m back on the right track. Writing down what I feel/think so I can keep track of my own sanity.

Medication is a weird one, because everyone basically swears you off it. Don’t take it. You’ll become reliant on it. You’ll be spaced out. Blah blah blah. It’s sometimes quite hard to separate that and obviously the main excuse not to take meds even when you should – I don’t want people to find out.

I’ve taken meds before, a few years ago and then really recently. I first took Citalopram and it made me want to die. I kinda gave up on that after a few weeks – who knew you should be weaned off SSRIs? Then at the start of the year I was prescribed Sertraline, I didn’t get many unusual side effects (didn’t feel like I wanted to die either, which is good) but I didn’t feel it making much difference. So now we’re here. 4 days in to taking Fluoxetine.

It’s not my best experience so far, basically haven’t been able to stomach food since Friday and constantly feel spewy. Having quite bad mood swings too, like frequently in a day. Mood issues isn’t something I’m super familiar in dealing with so that’s been tricky. I think the only other side effects I’ve had is a very occasional (and not super painful) headache and not being able to sleep. I’s the sickness that’s the worst bit.

From my experience before, I know this should all settle out and I’m so so committed to giving it a good go. Basically wasn’t eating or sleeping before I started taking these meds because I was so unwell, so that’s not a massive issue.

Hoping that these are just week 1 tings and I start feeling better next week.

Sending lots of luv

-Nat

Leave a comment